Fluharty Industries

perseveration

Leave a comment

Free

In psychology and psychiatry, perseveration is the repetition of a particular response, such as a word, phrase, or gesture, despite the absence or cessation of a stimulus, usually caused by brain injury or other organic disorder.[1] Symptoms include “lacking ability to transition or switch ideas appropriately with the social context, as evidenced by the repetition of words or gestures after they have ceased to be socially relevant or appropriate,”[2] or the “act or task of doing so,”[3] and are not better described as stereotypy (a highly repetitive idiosyncratic behaviour).

I think this may be a gift of my brain injury. People in my early support groups would often kid and say it was good because their brain injury made it easier for them to handle menial, benign, repetitive tasks.

Often they would remark of their ability to be put on hold for extended periods of time. if they didn’t forget why they made the call in the first place they could wait online practically forever.

I think for me, i have been called obtuse over it. I can see how this could be perceived.  I have often seen this in other family members.

Unknown-1

I perseverate over following the rules almost to a T. may be more for others than for myself. do as I say not as I do. I do however believe in the platinum rule when it comes to do as I say and not as I do. because I will normally do for others as they will have done for themselves. ( do to others as they want done unto them)

Unknown

Leave a Reply

